E-Arc Review: The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa

Earcreview2

43801254Title: The Worst Best Man
Author: Mia Sosa
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: February 4th, 2020

eARC provided by publisher through NetGalley. All opinions are my own.

synopsis header
“Critically acclaimed author Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy about a woman whose new job requires her to work side-by-side with the best man who ruined her wedding: her ex-fiancé’s infuriating, irritating, annoyingly handsome brother. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar. Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s managed to make other people’s dreams come true as a top-tier wedding coordinator in DC. After impressing an influential guest, she’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Tired of living in his older brother’s shadow, marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.

If they can survive the next few weeks and nail their presentation without killing each other, they’ll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina’s ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

But even the best laid plans can go awry, and soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again… (Goodreads)

reviewheader
When it came to this one, I didn’t hate it but I also didn’t love it as much as I wanted to. It had it’s interesting moments but it also disappointed me in a few ways too.

One reason I requested this title was because of the main character Lina. Her job is a wedding planner and honestly, I just love any romance that has a wedding planner in it. It was also great to see her being Brazilian have a lot to do with the plot. She was easy to understand when it came to her hatred towards the brothers. I mean, if I was left at the altar and it was caused by his brother than I would be pretty mad. With that comes a lot of personal growth for Lina. When she wants to be spiteful, she takes a step back. She does do some hilarious things to Max though. We can’t always be nice! It makes her realistic.

Max and Andrew, her ex-fiancee, doesn’t get as much development as Lina. Although Max and Lina have their own point-of-views, Max still lacked. The other characters were minor and that was fine as it let the spotlight stay on Max and Lina.

The romance between Max and Lina was okay. I don’t think there was a lot of development leading up to it and in ways it felt a little forced.

As for the plot, it was interesting and I am always a fan of brothers in books. The book got quite steamy at times. There was definitely a lot of plot twists throughout but they lacked that surprised factor and I found myself being able to spot them out before they even happened.

Overall, it was a decent read. It at least kept my attention but I just wish the romance had been more believable.

-Joanna TheGeekishBrunette (1)

Advertisement

Recently Acquired: The Worst Best Man

banner

 

Hello Lovely Bookworms!

I am here with another eARC from NetGalley! This book is one that I requested last week and was approved today for. As you may know, I have been diving into the Romance genre. I will say that I do not like ones that are super steamy because honestly, I just don’t like those scenes. I tend to skip them because they make me giggle, haha.

Although this one uses the word steamy in the synopsis, I had to request it because it just sounds like a great read! Hopefully, it will be everything I think it will be.

grey line

43801254Synopsis:

A wedding planner left at the altar. Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s managed to make other people’s dreams come true as a top-tier wedding coordinator in DC. After impressing an influential guest, she’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Tired of living in his older brother’s shadow, marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.

If they can survive the next few weeks and nail their presentation without killing each other, they’ll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina’s ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

But even the best laid plans can go awry, and soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again…” (NetGalley)

grey line

What do you think of this one? Does it pique your interest? Let me know in the comments!

Find me on Instagram / Goodreads