Arc Review: How to Fake It in Hollywood by Ava Wilder

Title: How to Fake It in Hollywood
Author: Ava Wilder
Genre: Adult Contemporary / Romance
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Publisher: Dell
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨

Thank you to the publisher and netgalley for a complimentary earc to review! All opinions are my own.

“A talented Hollywood starlet and a reclusive A-lister enter into a fake relationship . . . and discover that their feelings might be more than a PR stunt in this sexy debut for fans of Beach Read and The Unhoneymooners.

Grey Brooks is on a mission to keep her career afloat now that the end of her long-running teen soap has her (unsuccessfully) pounding the pavement again. With a life-changing role on the line, she’s finally desperate enough to agree to her publicist’s scheme . . . faking a love affair with a disgraced Hollywood heartthrob who needs the publicity, but for very different reasons.

Ethan Atkins just wants to be left alone. Between his high-profile divorce, his struggles with drinking, and his grief over the death of his longtime creative partner and best friend, he’s slowly let himself fade into the background. But if he ever wants to produce the last movie he and his partner wrote together, Ethan needs to clean up his reputation and step back into the spotlight. A gossip-inducing affair with a gorgeous actress might be just the ticket, even if it’s the last thing he wants to do.

Though their juicy public relationship is less than perfect behind the scenes, it doesn’t take long before Grey and Ethan’s sizzling chemistry starts to feel like more than just an act. But after decades in a ruthless industry that requires bulletproof emotional armor to survive, are they too used to faking it to open themselves up to the real thing?” (Goodreads)

I’ve been feeling like reading a romance lately so I figured why not dive into this one! The cover is awesome and I really liked what the blurb had to offer. Fake dating? A trope I have previously enjoyed and also tend to request/read books with it, haha. Although this book didn’t check all of my boxes, I still found enjoyment in it and finished it rather quickly.

The book is told from two point-of-views, Grey Brooks and Ethan Atkins. I am very much a fan of dual perspectives in romance books because I want to know what both parties are thinking in terms of their love interest and even what motivates them. I thought that the author did it nicely and had both characters dealing with turmoil outside of their “fake” relationship. The turmoil does tend to have more page time and development than the relationship. It’s one reason I didn’t fully connect with their relationship, but I at least liked seeing where their arc went with the turmoil.

Since this is about celebrities, there is a lot of drama that comes with it! I am not usually one for the drama but it does work well with these characters, their job, and the setting. I actually liked a lot of it which surprised me.

Overall, this was a fun read. I wish that it had been longer to get more development between the two and to have the side characters feel more present, but I did like what it had to offer nonetheless. If you want a quick read with fake dating and the one bed trope, I’d say give it a chance!

4 thoughts on “Arc Review: How to Fake It in Hollywood by Ava Wilder

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s