Arc Review: Tell Me When You Feel Something by Vicki Grant

Title: Tell Me When You Feel Something
Author: Vicki Grant
Genre: YA Mystery / Thriller
Publication Date: June 15th, 2021
Publisher: Penguin Teen
Rating: ⭐⭐✨

Thank you to the publisher and netgalley for an earc to read in exchange for a review!

The perfect after-school job turns deadly for teens working as simulated patients at the local med school. Everyone has something to hide and no one is safe in this contemporary YA thriller that exposes the dark reality of #MeToo in the world of medicine, for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

It seemed like a cool part-time program — being a simulated patient for med school students to practice on. But now vivacious, charismatic Viv lies in a very real coma. Cellphone footage just leads to more questions. What really happened? Other kids suspect it was not an intentional overdose — but each has a reason why they can’t tell the truth.

Through intertwining and conflicting narratives, a twisted story unfolds of trust betrayed as we sift through the seemingly innocent events leading up to the tragic night. Perhaps simulated patients aren’t the only people pretending to be something they’re not . . .” (Goodreads)

I’m always down to read a YA Mystery / Thriller. Even if they are labeled as “YA”, they can still be quite heart pounding! I also don’t read it too often but when I do, I am hoping to get hooked. Unfortunately for this one, it just felt like your average mystery / thriller.

The book does have multiple point-of-views as the girl, Viv, everyone is talking about is in a coma. Some of the point-of-views were more interesting than others. Since it does switch often it is hard to fully connect with the other characters as the plot is based around Viv.

When it came to Viv, she has a lot going on in her life. She is dealing with divorced parents, one remarrying, and everything else that comes with being a teen. She turns to alcohol to help numb the pain which is sad that she felt like she didn’t have anyone there for her besides the substance.

Besides the multiple point-of-views, there are also police interviews and emails that correlate with the case. I always like seeing this format because it helps to engage more with the plot.

The plot felt very average and didn’t leave me feeling like it brought anything new to the genre. After a bit it was easy to figure out where the story was going and who did it. I at least was surprised by one thing.

There is definitely need for content warnings so here they are: sexual assault, talk of child pornography, substance abuse

Overall, this was just okay. I felt like the plot could have been developed a bit better and the minor characters could have been less flat.

One thought on “Arc Review: Tell Me When You Feel Something by Vicki Grant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s