Blog Tour: Sisters of Sword and Songs by Rebecca Ross

JUlIQU4A

52038346Title: Sisters of Sword and Songs
Author: Rebecca Ross
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication Date: June 23rd, 2020
Publisher: HarperTeen

Thanks to the publisher for the free e-copy! (I received a copy for reviewing. All opinions are my own.)

*Click here for all other tour dates!*

 

synopsis header
From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.” (Goodreads)

Amazon / B & N / Book Depository / Google / Kobo / iTunes

mIrnhVFg

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband, lively dog and endless piles of books. She received her bachelor’s degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Instagram / Facebook / Pinterest

bonuscontent

Sisters of Sword and Song PDF

reviewheaderThe cover for this book automatically caught my eye. All of the details are just beautiful! I haven’t read anything else by this author yet but I am glad that I was able to read this book and experience her writing.

This book follows two sisters, each one having their own point-of-view. Evadne and Halcyon are quite the opposites as one is more strong and the other a bit magical. Hence the title of the book. If you have read previous book reviews from me you would already know that I love reading books with sister bonds. These two sisters were no exception. Even though this is a standalone you could feel the bond they shared from the beginning.

The plot is quite unique because the author weaves mythology in and creates deities and relics that add a bit of wonder to the pages. There is adventure and a dash of romance which is always nice to see.

Standalones can sometimes be hard because sometimes you just need more, whether it’s from the characters or setting, but I think the author did a nice job of making both come to life. I wasn’t left wanting more from either and it was satisfying to read.

Overall, this was a book worth reading. If you like mythology or sister bonds, I’d recommend picking this one up!

favquotes

“She saw the stars in his eyes, a slow awakening of joy in his face.”

“Failure is never final unless you choose it to be.”

“Where there is life, hope can be found.”

giveaway

Zfjqnffw

Win a copy of Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross + 4 myth cards  (The Fall of Kirkos, Ari’s Shawl of Stars, The Entrapment of Pyrrhus, and Acantha’s Crown) [US Only]

Starts June 17th, 2020 and ends July 1st, 2020

Click Here to Enter Giveaway!

border2

I hope you enjoyed my blog tour spot for Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross! Be sure to check out the other stops!

Tour Schedule

Find me on Instagram / Goodreads

-Joanna TheGeekishBrunette (1)

 

7 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Sisters of Sword and Songs by Rebecca Ross

  1. Ooh, this cover 😍 And the beautiful art inside the book itself. I don’t recall seeing anything about this one before but I’m intrigued! I liked that excerpt that you shared and I’ll definitely be adding this to my TBR asap (and hopefully to my physical/Kindle shelves soon)! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I don’t think that it has been talked about often. I have other books by this author on my shelf which I am excited to get to since I liked this one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s