Blog Tour: Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2) by Joanna Hathaway (Review+Favorite Quotes)

Zp-ASedg.png

b2ap3_large_Storm-from-the-East_cover-finalTitle: Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2)
Author: Joanna Hathaway
Genre: YA Fantasy/Historical Fiction
Publication Date: February 11th, 2020

Thanks to the publisher for the free copy! (I received a copy for reviewing. All opinions are my own.)

I am also on the bookstagram tour and will have a post up today.

*Click the banner for all other tour dates!*

 

synopsis header
“Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital—where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared . . . but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.” (Goodreads)

Amazon / B & N / BookDepository / Google / Kobo / Itunes

authorbio.png

xcyfs42wJOANNA HATHAWAY was born in Montréal and is an avid storyteller who was inspired to write after reading her great-grandfather’s memoirs of the First World War. A lifelong history buff, she now has shelves filled with biographies and historical accounts, and perhaps one too many books about pilots. She can often be found reading, traveling, or riding horses.Her debut novel DARK OF THE WEST is the first in a World Wars-infused fantasy series of forbidden love and deadly revenge. STORM FROM THE EAST will hit shelves on February 11, 2020

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest

reviewheader
I have been dreading picking this one up. The first book was a whirlwind of emotion and the second book was definitely right up there, if not more so! I could feel my eyes tearing up throughout and honestly, it gave me a book hangover. It hasn’t happened in awhile so that’s a win even if I may drown in my own sadness, ha. So, let’s move into my review of this heart-wrenching read.

Aurelia and Athan are back, as well as many familiar faces from book one. They are still star-crossed lovers trying to find peace while others make it hard to do. Although there isn’t many scenes with them together, both get their own chapters/point-of-view of the war that is rattling their world.

I wanted them to be okay. I wanted them to finally run away together and forget what is happening. I wanted them to have a happy ending. The talk about running away kept coming back and when there was a glimmer of hope for them something pulled it out of sight. They were so innocent and pure and at certain times, oblivious to the world around them as they shared secret moments together. I really hope they get their happy ending because if this turns out like Romeo and Juliet, I will not be okay!

A character that made his appearance in this book really stole the show when he was present. Triggs is hilarious, cocky, and I loved it! He is also colorblind and I thought that was awesome because he didn’t let it stop him from doing what he loved, flying planes.

With any book about royalty, war, politics, and family, there is always drama. The plot twists come with vengeance and I wasn’t sure when a character would drop dead. The suspense was real and I couldn’t focus on anything until I finished this book.

Since you know that this book deals with war, you already know it’s not going to end well. Causalities in war are inevitable. No one is perfect and that means no one has the perfect strategy. There is always death on both sides and there is also death for those who are simply living in the wrong place at the wrong time. All of this and more can be found on the pages of this book. It is sad and makes you think about all the wars that have passed in the real world. It’s easy to look at fiction and see it as just that but books like this are important because it’s another way to look at a hard topic and maybe reach people who wouldn’t otherwise understand how tragic war is.

Overall, I loved this book just as much as the first. Hathaway’s writing is descriptive and leaves you wanting more with each turn of a page. I can’t wait to read the third and final book next year, although my emotions may need more time than that to be ready.

favquotes

Here are a few quotes that I picked out to share. All quotes can change and may be different when the book is published.

“War is not the story of generals, or even kings.
The sniper learned this long ago, that it is the smallest and most forgotten–by the ink headlines, by the march of history–who comprise its greatest ranks.”

This is right at the very beginning of the book and it is perfect! It’s also quite true.

“Never expect anything in return from the one who has the most to gain.”

This is literally something to live by. I don’t think I have to explain why I picked this one, haha.

“Pictures leave a stronger impression than words.”

This is something I think we can see through history as well as in our own lives. Pictures show emotion and they are much more important for me than words. They also help me still remember my grandparents who have passed. Pictures are great for history because it shows the horrors of what happens in war. It’s different than words because you actually have to look into those peoples eyes.

“Perhaps we’ll always be strung together like stars.”

I just thought this was beautiful and it gives me all the feelings!

giveaway

Win (1) of (3) copies of Storm from the East by Joanna Hathaway! (US Only)

Starts February  5th, 2020 and ends February 19th, 2020.

Click here to enter giveaway!

border2

I hope you enjoyed my blog tour spot for Storm from the East! Make sure to check out the other blogs as well!

Find me on Instagram / Goodreads

-Joanna TheGeekishBrunette (1)

7 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2) by Joanna Hathaway (Review+Favorite Quotes)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s